Tanzania: Delimitation of constituencies

Extracted from: Grant Masterson 2009 "Chapter 13: Tanzania and Zanzibar" IN Denis Kadima and Susan Booysen (eds) Compendium of Elections in Southern Africa 1989-2009: 20 Years of Multiparty Democracy, EISA, Johannesburg, 522.

Delimitation of constituencies on the mainland is conducted by the National Electoral Commission (NEC), which reviews the boundaries of constituencies and wards every ten years. These boundaries were reviewed prior to the 1995 elections, and therefore the NEC did not review them in 2000, meaning that for both of these elections, the number of constituencies and wards was 231 constituencies, and 2 358 wards. The NEC reviewed this arrangement ahead of the 2005 elections and revised the constituency and ward allocation to a final tally of 232 constituencies and 2 554 wards. The NEC is mandated to carry out a delimitation review when necessary and at least once every 10 years by article 75 (4) of the Constitution of the United Republic of Tanzania, 1977.


See Zanzibar: Delimitation of constituencies


CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA 1977 (CAP 2), [www] http://www.policeforce.go.tz/pdf/REPUBLIC.pdf, [PDF document, opens new window] (accessed 8 Mar 2010).