Mali: Constitution

Updated May 2020

CONSTITUTION Adopted by referendum on 12 January 1992 and promulgated on the 25 February 1992; amended 1999 and briefly suspended in 2012.
FORM OF STATE Democratic, secular, social Republic[1]
HEAD OF STATE President is Head of State and presides over preside over the Council of Ministers; elected for a five year term, renewable once, by an absolute majority through direct universal suffrage[2]
EXECUTIVE The cabinet, which determines and directs the political institutions of the Nation, the armed forces and is answerable to the National Assembly which may force its resignation by a two-thirds majority vote of no confidence; it is headed by a Prime Minister appointed by the President and the members of the Cabinet are appointed or dismissed by the President on the Prime Minister's advice[3]
LEGISLATURE Unicameral parliament, the National Assembly, whose members are elected for five years by direct universal suffrage in a manner determined by law; President after consultation with Prime Minister and Speaker, may dissolve the National Assembly, but elections must be held between 21 and 40 days[4].
JUDICIARY Consists of Supreme Court and other Courts and Tribunals, including Constitutional Court and High Court of Justice[5]. President and Vice-President of Supreme Court are appointed by national President as nominated by the Superior Council of the Magistracy[6]. The Constitutional Court's nine members amade up of 3 nominated by President of the Republic, 3 nominated by the National Assembly and 3 nominated by the Superior Council of the Magistracy[7]. Members of High Court of Justice (to judge the President of the Republic and Ministers upon accusation of High Treason by the National Assembly) composed of members designated by the National Assembly[8].
AMENDMENT In general amendments require the votes of two-thirds of all the members of the National Assembly and the ratification of the electorate in a referendum; no amendement may compromise the integrity of the Republic's territory, its republican form, the secularity of the State or multiparty democraty[9]
DEMOCRACY PROTECTION AGENCIES There are no democracy protection agencies established by the Constitution

Table notes

[1] Constitution 1992, Article 25.
[2] Constitution 1992, Articles 29, 30, 39.
[3] Constitution 1992, Articles 38, 53-55, 78-80.
[4] Constitution 1992, Articles 42, 59-61.
[5] Constitution 1992, Articles 81, 83, 85, 95.
[6] Constitution 1992, Articles 83, 84.
[7] Constitution 1992, Articles 85, 91, 92.
[8] Constitution 1992, Articles 95, 96.
[9] Constitution 1992, Article 118.