Malawi: 2009 Presidential election candidates

Updated May 2009


Candidate Party Gender
Kamuzu Chibambo People's Transformation Party (PETRA) Male
Loveness Gondwe New Rainbow Coalition NARC) Female
Stanley Masauli Republican Party (RP) Male
Dr Bingu Wa Mutharika Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Male
Dindi Gowa Nyasulu Alliance For Democracy (AFORD) Male
James Nyondo Independent Male
John Tembo Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Male

Table source

Malawi Electoral Commission 2009

Court case

The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) rejected the nomination of Dr Bakili Muluzi, leader of the United Democratic Front, who served two consecutive terms as President of Malawi from 1994-2004 (Malawi Electoral Commission 2009). The Constitution of Malawi (1994, Article 83(2)) specifies that "The President or Vice-President may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms".

Dr Muluzi took the matter to court, arguing that the constitution the Constitution did not prohibit three or more presidential terms, but only three consecutive presidential terms (Mail & Guardian 2009). The Court upheld the decision of the MEC and ruled that the Constitution did bar Dr Muluzi from running for a third term; Dr Muluzi's lawyer said that they would take the matter on appeal (AFP 2009).


AFP 2009 "Muluzi election bar brings 'relief' to Malawians", 17 May, [opens new window] (accessed 4 Mar 2010).

CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF MALAWI 1994, [www] [opens new window] (accessed 4 Mar 2010).

MALAWI ELECTORAL COMMISSION 2009 "Press Release: Determination of Nomination Papers for Presidential Candidates", 20 March, [www] (offline 4 Mar 2010).

MAIL & GUARDIAN ONLINE 2009a "Malawi court to rule on ex president's bid", 12 May, [opens new window] (accessed 4 Mar 2010).