DRC: 1960 National Assembly results

Updated April 2007

According to Lodge et al (2002, 64):

The electoral system provided for under the loi fundimentale was complicated. On 22 May, adult male citizens aged at least 21 years, were voting for the National Assembly and for six provincial councils. Voting was compulsory. For the national elections, parties submitted lists in each district or commune. For the councils, parties compiled lists for each territory, a rather larger administrative division. Both districts and territories were to be represented by a multiplicity of members to allow for the distribution of seats between parties on the basis of their proportional share of votes, parties were required to submit lists of candidates half as long again as the number of seats to be filled.

An 87 member Senate was constituted from representatives of the provinces, while the Prime Minister was elected by the National Assembly and the President by both houses together (Lodge et al 2002, 63-64).

Patrice Lumbumba (MNC) entered into a coalition with the PSA, CEREA and other parties after the election to obtain a working majority in the National Assembly and so became Prime Minister; Joseph Kasavubu (ABAKO) was subsequently elected State President by the Parliament (Lodge et al 2002, 64).

Party Seats % Seats
Mouvement National Congolais - Lumbumba (MNC-L) 33 24.09
National Party for Progress (PNP) 22 16.06
Parti Solidaire Africain (PSA) 13 9.49
Alliance des Ba-Kongo (ABAKO) 12 8.76
Centre de Regroupment Africain (CEREA) 10 7.30
Confederation des Associations Tribales du Katanga (CONAKAT) 8 5.84
Mouvement National Congolais - Koloji (MNC-K) 8 5.84
Association Générale des Baluba du Katanga (BALUBAKAT) 6 4.38
Others 25 18.25
Total 137 100.01

Table source

Lodge et al 2002, 80.


LODGE, T, KADIMA, D & POTTIE, D (eds) 2002 Compendium of Elections in Southern Africa, EISA.