Burundi: 2020 Presidential election candidates

Updated 21 April 2020

Presidential candidates

Ten candidates were nominated for the presidency, of whom 4 did not filfil the legal requirements. None of the candidates were women.

Rejected candidates

Candidate Party Date founded
Jacques Bigirimana Forces Nationales de Libération (FNL)
National Liberation Forces
Valentin Kavakure Front Populaire National IMBONEZA (FPN)
National Popular Front
Domitien Ndayizeye Kira Burundi 2013
Anicet Niyonkuru Conseil Des Patriotes (CDP)
Patriots' Council
Before 2009

Table source

CENI 2020

Accepted Candidates

Candidate Party Date Founded
Dieudonné Nahimana Independent N/A
Evariste Ndayishimine Conseil National Pour la Défense de la Démocratie - Forces pour la Défense de la Démocratie (CNDD FDD)
National Council for the Defense of Democracy - Forces for the Defense of Democracy
8 May 1998
Léonce Ngendakumana Front pour la Démocratie au Burundi (Sahwanya-FRODEBU)
Front for Democracy in Burundi
Francis Rohero Independent NA
Agathon Rwasa Congrès National pour la Liberté (CNL)
National Congress for Freedom
Gaston Sindimwo Union pour le Progrès national (UPRONA)
Union for National Progress

Table source

CENI 2020


Independent National Election Commission "Submission of application for 2020 Presidential election", https://www.ceniburundi.bi/2020/03/10/communique-les-resultats-de-lanalyse-des-candidatures-a-lelection-presidentielle-2020/ (accessed 20 April 2020).